Member Photo

8th District

District Office: 5051 W. Chicago Ave. Chicago, IL 60651 ( 773 ) 750 - 0866 Map/Driving Directions
Springfield Office: 239-E Stratton Office Building Springfield, IL 62706 ( 217 ) 557 - 4502 Map/Driving Directions Email:
Years Served
January 2007 - Present
Committee Assignment
Appropriations-Higher Education (Chairperson); Gaming; Insurance; Labor & Commerce; Mental Health & Addiction; Public Utilities; Restorative Justice (Vice-Chairperson); Occupational Licenses; Re-Entry Policy (Sub-Chairperson).
B.S., Loyola University Chicago. Former Chicago Public Schools teacher, still certified. Licensed real estate broker and insurance agent. Chair of House Democratic Task Force to Increase State Government Business Opportunities for Minority-Owned Enterprises and Small Businesses. Chair of Firearm Public Awareness Task Force. Co-founder of West Side Heroin Task Force. 2018 Nelson Mandela Award for Justice Honoree from Westside Health Authority, in recognition of tireless service and outstanding contributions in fostering peace and fighting for justice on the West Side of Chicago. Representative since 2007.
Associated Senator(s)