Member Photo

46th District

Majority Caucus Whip

District Office: 400 NE. Jefferson Suite 200 Peoria, IL 61603 ( 309 ) 677 - 0120 Map/Driving Directions
Springfield Office: M113 Capitol Building Springfield, IL 62706 Map/Driving Directions
Years Served
Elected November 2006, Appointed December 2006 - Present
Committee Assignment
Agriculture; Committee of the Whole; Education; Environment and Conservation (Chairperson); Labor; Local Government; Transportation; Oversight Medicaid Mang. Care, Spec; Sub. on Interscholastic Athletics (Sub-Chairperson); Sub. Confined Animal Feeding Ops.; Subcommittee on Drycleaners; Subcommittee on Special Issues (LB); Supplier Diversity, Special Com. On.
Born and raised in South Dakota, moved to Peoria in 1978; B.A., Yankton College, 1971; M.A. in divinity, United Theological Seminary, 1974; staff member, National Farm Worker Ministry; community organizer and program manager, Peoria Friendship House; executive director, Peoria Area Labor Management Council; president, Labor Management Cooperative Health Programs Inc.; Peoria County Board member, 1982-88; Peoria City Council member, 1989-97 (mayor pro tem, 1993-94); member of the NCSL Natural Resources and Infrastructure Committee and Task Force on Energy Supply; first elected to Senate in November 2006; appointed to Senate in December 2006 to fill term of retiring Senator George Shadid; married with three daughters, two sons-in-law, one daughter-in-law, two granddaughters and one grandson.
Associated Representative(s)